Leadership Team

YMCA Canberra’s Leadership Team is headed by our Chief Executive, Torrien Lau, and comprises Executive Officers from each business unit. Our leadership structure is designed to enable innovation and continuous improvement.

Torrien Lau

Torrien Lau
Chief Executive Officer

Joined the Y in January 2018.
Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Adam Horner

Adam Horner
Executive Manager, Accommodation, Health & Recreation

Joined the Y in April 2017.
Bachelor of Applied Science in Sports Administration.

Cara Moore
Executive Manager, Children’s Services

Joined the Y in September 2013.

Diploma of Children’s Services, Diploma of Business Management.

Andrew ONeil

Andrew O’Neil
Executive Manager, Finance & Risk

Joined the Y in September 1993.
Associate Diploma of Applied Science.

Jo Hoare
Manager, People and Culture

Joined the Y in February 2016.

Diploma of Leadership and Management.

Board of Directors

YMCA Canberra is governed by a voluntary board of directors who have carriage for the governance of our subsidiary entities that operate our social enterprises. Our board members have an extensive range of professional and life experience that contributes significantly in their honorary capacities to ensure the YMCA delivers on our mission, vision and corporate stewardship.

Our Constitution allows us to have up to 9 Directors with a provision of at least two young people under the age of 31 years who are independent members of the association. The Board’s role is documented in the Board Charter.

Tristan Maddigan | Chair

Tristan holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Marketing, Accounting, Management) and specialises in marketing strategy, finance and accounting, leadership, management skills and creative communications. During Tristan’s 15-year career he has launched The Mark Agency, whilst also launching a series of media platforms through networks such as iPrime and Yahoo7, and he provides strategic support on all of these projects.

Elisabeth Judd | Deputy Chair

Elisabeth has extensive experience working in the public and private sectors across planning, urban policy, affordable housing, the development industry and in law. She currently works as a Director in a firm that specialises in architecture and urban strategy. A mother of three children, Elisabeth values the contribution the YMCA can make to the development and wellbeing of young people in Canberra, and promoting social health and wellbeing. Elisabeth has been a member of the YMCA Canberra Board since 2017.

Charine Bennett

Charine brings extensive experience in law, dispute resolution and public administration. Currently a senior lawyer with the Australian Government Solicitor, she has worked across a wide range of Australian Government agencies and holds an LLB (grad) and Grad. Dip Legal Practice from ANU,
Grad. Dip Commerce (Uni SA) and B. Economics (Accounting) (Flinders University). Charine credits the YMCA Canberra Running Club as having given her a love of our many beautiful trails. As a mother of two teenagers, Charine is drawn to the Y’s contribution to empowering young people. A director of YMCA Canberra since 2015 including a period as Chair and Deputy Chair. Charine also brings previous board experience as a director for Maribyrnong Primary School and the Domestic Violence Crisis Service Canberra.

Aaron Froud

Aaron brings significant financial management expertise to the board of the Y and is a Partner at KPMG with over 17 years’ experience in providing accounting and taxation services. He has Bachelor degrees in Economics and Commerce from ANU as well as a Graduate Diploma in Chartered Accounting. Aaron’s passion for the Y comes from a hope to see the families and communities of Canberra thrive. A director of YMCA Canberra since 2014 including a period as President, Aaron also Chairs the Board’s Finance & Risk Sub-Committee.

Robert Huntington

Robert has been working in the building services and construction industry for 18 years in a range of roles. Coming from a trade background, Rob brings diversity of thought, decision making and problem solving to the board of the Y. Robert’s contribution to the Y will complement the work he has already been doing around mental health for young men and women in the construction industry, with a focus on reducing stigma, providing a supportive work environment, and ongoing staff training. Rob joined the YMCA Canberra Board in November 2020.

Joanna Bell

Joanna has a strong background in generalist HR/WHS within a wide range of industries. She has 12 years’ experience in senior leadership skills in people management, leadership capability, board and governance, change management, building compliance, talent succession, innovative practices and engaging a high performance culture that aligns with organisational goals and strategic direction. Joanna is a qualified and certified AHRI practitioner, and holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Majoring in HR), awarded the Australian Rising Star 2016, and finalist for Australian HR Manager of the year in 2017. Joanna joined the YMCA Canberra Board in June 2019. Joanna chairs the Board’s Governance and Nominations Sub-Committee.

Past General Secretaries and CEOs

1941 – 1945: Clive Glover
1945 – 1948: Clive Smith
1948 – 1956: Harry Black
1956 – 1959: Dennis Millikin (Acted)
1959 – 1962: Ian Frencham
1963 – 1965: Harold Jenner
1965 – 1979: Eric Boyson MBE
1979 – 1984: Len Goodman AO
1984 – 1985: Sandy Sanders
1985 – 1986: Dan Devlin & Bob Romanes (Acted)
1986 – 1991: Norman Braidwood
1991 – 1996: Ian Rentsch
1996 – 2002: Richard Tanzer
2003 – 2016: Jennifer McCombe OAM
2016 – 2018: Darren Black
2018 – 2018: Andrew O’Neil (Acting)

Past Board Presidents

1941 – 1945: Charles S Daley
1945 – 1946: Harry F. E. Whitlam
1946 – 1947: Bill Dunbar
1947 – 1950: W.J.M. Campbell
1950 – 1951: W.C. Balmford
1951 – 1952: Max Purnell
1952 – 1980: Keith Arscott MBE
1980 – 1982: George Scott
1982 – 1986: Allen Curtis
1986 – 1989: Ron Harvey CVO
1989 – 1991: Vern Davies
1991 – 1994: Steve Atkins
1994 – 1996: John Statton
1996 – 2000: Judith Cubbage
2000 – 2003: Norm Jensen
2003 – 2008: Jane Mugford
2008 – 2010: Peter McGrath
2010 – 2013: Glenn O’Sullivan
2013 – 2016: Pierre Huetter
2016 – 2017: Aaron Froud
2017 – 2019: Garry Watson AM
2019 – 2020: Charine Bennett

Cover photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash